I am all love

On Sunday April 25th, I fell in love

It’s true. I saw this amazing man and was smitten from first sight. 

Let me continue to tell you that this mysterious fellow is my new nephew Teo. My oldest brother, Travis, and Marta had their first child last Sunday. I am overwhelmed with happiness and joy for his birth. These feelings are complicated by confusing emotions of elation for his arrival and a sudden very clear understanding of my distance from my home and family.

It’s actually been one of the very hardest weeks for me here in Mozambique. I spent last weekend on skype chatting with almost every member of my family. We all ooohed and ahhhed about how great this new addition was. Since then, I’ve rushed home from work waiting for my next chance to get online and watch via webcam as this beautiful, alien family member sleeps and stretches in his carriage seat all the way back in NYC. 

I cannot express how grateful I am for modern technology at this moment; cell phones, email, Skype, web-cams. I live in a time of luxury communication for an overseas expat. But for all the access that it allows, it really cannot replace the intimacy of a real hug or kiss. 

As all my family gathers together to celebrate and revel in the excitement of this event, I find myself constantly on the verge of tears, be it from happiness or homesickness – I can’t seem to differentiate right now. 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “I am all love

  1. Elizabeth

    Aunt Camille,
    Really he is just the cutest little guy. I’m very excited to see more pictures.

  2. Pants

    gorgeous! Congratulations, Auntie. Just bring him something really cool when you see him, and he’ll forgive/get any momentary absence. Baby’s are such suckers.

  3. Marta

    Camille,
    I’m only now just getting a chance to catch up
    with your postings (sorry) but as you know, I’ve been a bit busy.
    Anyway, I just want to say that this was a very sweet post and it brought tears to my eyes. We miss you lots around here but don’t you worry, soon enough Teo will be plenty of hugs and kisses from his amazing redheaded auntie.

Leave a Reply

