Visitors from home!

I have known Andrea since I was in second grade and Alexi since eighth grade. 

Both Andrea and Alexi live in NYC. But they love me so much, that they got on a plane and flew from NYC to Dubai to Johannesburg to Maputo then to Vilankulo. Two days and four flights later they arrived. All this for just one week in Mozambique.

This is how we spent our time:


A & A brought me gifts from home:


I made them walk around in the hot sun and go to work with me one day. So to make up for the sweat, we went to Casa Guçi, where

We caught a 3 am bus down to Tofu, where

Feeling bold and full of adventurous spirit, we hitched hiked to the nearest ATM.

We bought chocolate and lozenges,

They almost passed us by, but then stopped and came back. They took pity on us because they said they used to hitch when they were young. 

The next day we relaxed and were lazy.

We then made the long trek back to Vilankulo.


On the last night we went to the market and bought fresh fish. So we



The next day, it was time to pack up. Lexi didn’t have much to do, since her bag never arrived. After lunch and one last dip in the Mozambican Channel, Andrea and Alexi got in a taxi and headed back to the airport.

Now, I have a quiet empty cabana all to myself.

It’s the sudden empty space and feeling from when people you love go back home. The vacuum reminds you of how grateful you are for your friends that travel half way around the world, but it also reminds you that you live half way around the world. 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Blog posts

3 responses to “Visitors from home!

  1. Melissa

    Camilly! So very excited that you had visitors – what a wonderful, well-deserved treat for you. Very proud of all the adventures you’ve taken on. You are my new ‘girl-power’ role model – Bad Ass Camille! Snakes better recognize! xo

  2. Alexi

    Oh wow, I’m famous! I am so honored my visit was so beautifully commemorated! Also, I have a bit of a cold, what would my dermatologist suggest?

    I miss you! I love you!

  3. margery stewart baxter

    i love the pictorial narrative! you have an exquisite way with the brush stroke.

Leave a Reply

