work and deadlines

The past 2 weeks have been hectic. 

Several representatives from our funders have come through town to review the SEED project’s development and check that goals are being met. Of course, their arrivals come after some major changes in management and refocusing, so there is lots of work to catch up on. To keep getting funding we had to demonstrate that things are getting done. 

For me, that meant getting several displays ready for the local hotels. Easy enough, right?  But there are so many little details that had to get done along the way. And for each thing that needed to happen, there was always someone else to follow up with and triple check with; such as going to several different villages to meet with the weavers, collecting baskets, arranging fumigation, designing tags, printing tags, designing stands – then making them myself because they didn’t get done on time…I dunno what else, but it was a bit of a mad dash.  

All in all it has reminded me of two things I am so very grateful for: 

  • Deadlines (to get things moving & done)
  • The moments when I am reminded that ,even with all the major frustrations and doubts about getting things done here, there are times when everything does fall into place and works. 

I’m going down to Maputo on Monday for a crafts fair with several of the weavers that we work with. The goal is to sell some of their products and also to show them how an exhibition works, the caliber that is expected and whatnot. Of course, this is still Africa so the standards are different and I have very little idea of what to expect myself. We shall see… Anyway, that also means I’ll be there for Thanksgiving. I know I’ll not be getting any turkey and stuffing, but a guinea fowl feast would be just fine.

1 Comment

Filed under Blog posts

One response to “work and deadlines

  1. margery stewart baxter

    how was the guinea fowl feast?

Leave a Reply

