Week 1 in Vilankulo

I don’t even know where to start.

Firstly, I’m reeling by the fact that this website actually loaded and let me loggin. I probably shouldn’t try my luck too long because I’m sure to get disconnected any minute. How about bullet points? Yes:

  • After spending a week in Maputo, I finally arrived in my new home, Vilankulo.
  • My cabana has lived up to and surpassed my hopes. It’s very open to air, bugs, lizards and sand, but my trusty mosquito net keeps me safe. (Aparently the people in my compound refer to it as the “James Bond House” because it looks like it’s from a movie set!)
  • The sun rises right in my windows at 5 AM ! It’s really the most perfect way to wake up.
  • Cold showers are refreshing, or at least that’s what I have to convince myself of.
  • I have 2 really nice Peace Corps volunteers who live in the hut behind mine. Courtney and Sarah have been really helpful and have taught me most of the essential skills, like where to shop in the market, how to turn my power on, where to and not to walk, who to get rides with to work, and perhaps most importantly where to get chocolate.
  • I haven’t started my Portuguese classes, but I’m told that a toutor will be calling me by next week. This is Africa, so we’ll see when I actually get that set up. I’m giving it 2 weeks more before I hear a word.
  • The hardest part about being here is probably filling the time-gap between when I get home from work around 5:30 and when I go to bed around 10PM. I don’t have a computer, definitely no TV, no pets, no one really to hang out with. That’s a lot of time to fill alone. I’ve figured out that teaching my self to cook with minimal supplies can really take a big chunk of the evening, then I draw or write in my journal, listen to music, make tea and OH, time to get in bed.
  • Every so often I have to remind myself that all this alone-time is a grand adventure and fun or else it could threaten loneliness.

I don’t really have time to go into any details about work or the training conference I’ve been observing. But it will all have to wait ‘till next time.

Okay. Off I go.

                                   camille beach weekend 1

3 Comments

Filed under Blog posts

3 responses to “Week 1 in Vilankulo

  1. G'dad y G'mom

    Good to hear from you. Sounds like you have time to write that great African novel or a cookbook…”Camille and Julia.”
    Take care….we LOVE YOU!!!!!!!!!

  2. Ross Smith

    I wonder, if you put your address on this freaking blog, would you get more, or less mail?

    Help me out here.

    Of course, if you are just trying to torture me into reading and clicking on each freaking entry, just to find out if maybe you’ve hidden your address somewhere in the body of the text, then that would be okay. As long as you’re trying to do it.

    And I miss you terribly.

    • cstabler

      OH MAN! If I had known to post it earlier, I’d probably be getting copious amounts of packages and letters!!! I’ve gone and added my mailing address under my “Links” page. But Just in case you can’t find it, here it is again:

      Camille Stabler
      CP # 16
      Vilankulos, Mozambique
      AFRICA

      I look forward to some bona fide mail that will make me love you even more Ross.

Leave a Reply

