Day 1, 2 & 3

To my surprise and to my relief someone from VSO actually met me at the airport in Maputo. Phew!
plane landing
We went strait to the office, was introducted to the staff, and ran some errands like getting my phone working, registered at the US Embassy, etc, etc. In the evening I was dropped of at the guest apartment, and had the place to myself. Luckily I was too tired to care that I had no money, no food, no phone and no sense of direction.
Turns out, the next day, what I thought was a 10 minute car ride to the office was really just a two block walk down the street. I’ve spent the last few days trying to fill the time with appointments and “training” sessions. I say “training” loosely since the actually greetings and learning sessions have been a bit of a joke. Mostly they are brief conversations where we review a paper that’s already been given to us, or someone sits down to tell us about who else is responsible for one thing or another. I don’t know if that makes sense; basically, it’s an inglorious introduction to the slow and beaurocratic African process.
As for the city itself, it seems like it is pretty great. It’s a bit of a combination of Accra and Caribbean style buildings. Neglected architecture, but the city was planned by the Portuguese so it’s a grid and easy and safe to walk around (most of the areas). It’s right on the ocean, but I haven’t gotten a chance to go see the beach yet. Hopefully this weekend I’ll get a chance to explore more of the neighborhoods and eat local food.
1 Comment

Filed under Blog posts

One response to “Day 1, 2 & 3

  1. Andrea

    I miss you! I dreamt that John Chestnut and I came to visit you. There was lots of good seafood and a chinese garden which I doubt is actually there. Cant wait til we can come see you…

Leave a Reply

